Posted by: Gregoryno6 | January 26, 2016

Thank you letters with a surprise. Or two.

Talk about well timed delivery. AFPO is clearly not a branch office of Australia Post.

img009

Right on Christmas Eve. But wait… Captain Miller forgot to mention the calendar!

Well, every rule was made to be broken. And my second letter (partly transcribed here) more than compensates for the captain’s omission.

Dear Greg,

My name is Cpl Sheryl O’Brien. I am the Postal Manager for AFP020. I look after all the incoming and outgoing mail. I love the job, to see smiles on people’s faces when they receive mail or care packages, you can see how it brightens up their day…
Thank you for your care package. I am a female, yes, but I grew up on a farm and I’ve been most of a tomboy nearly all my life. I appreciate anything that is sent through, and just to let you know, the calendar is up in my office.

Thanks for that intelligence, Corporal. I have been wondering how the women in uniform regarded Gina’s project. Sheryl continues:

I don’t mind classic cars… my spouse is a mechanic and has a love for VWs. My father was also a mechanic, and farmer, and did lots of odd jobs after he retired. Some of this traits I picked up myself. I guess that’s why I joined the defence force. A different type of job, always doing something different and being challenged in different ways.
Once again, thank you for the care package and I wish you a good prosperous new year.

And the same to you and yours, Sheryl. Safe home to your family.

Happy Australia Day.

Australian Flag

Leave a Reply

Categories

