Posted by: Gregoryno6 | February 2, 2014

Treacher talks Time Lord.

Jim Treacher takes a break from idiot drivers and DC hos to expound on a matter of real import.

The Doctor should kind of creep you out. He should make you think, “I’m in the presence of someone I don’t know, someone I can never know, because he is utterly alien. But he still wants to save us from these even creepier space guys, because he’s smarter than them and he’s not about to let them forget it.”

And here is the latest incarnation of the, er, Man from Gallifrey: Peter Capaldi.

Capaldi_Doctor

“Simple, stark, and back to basics. No frills, no scarf, no messing, just 100 per cent Rebel Time Lord.” That’s how Capaldi himself puts it, and I won’t argue.

Thank Omega the BBC reversed the trend on ever-younger Doctors. Even a shape-shifting master of time and space needs a few wrinkles and grey hairs to lend gravitas. Seriously, a younger Doctor than Matt Smith would have sported braces on his teeth and spent more time battling acne than defeating the Daleks.

I grew up with Pertwee and Baker – Doctor Who was a part of my youth. I’ve tried to regain my interest in recent years but the quality of writing on the series has not been good. Pointless babble and running about have taken the place of story and intelligent dialogue. The Capaldi reboot suggests that the people in charge might be shifting down a gear – looking for a slower, more thoughtful story arc.

I’ll be angrier than a hungry Drashig if I’m wrong.

Leave a Reply

Categories

