Posted by: Gregoryno6 | August 17, 2013

On Ideology And Ideologues

I’m reblogging this. A fine piece of writing, Bob.

The Camp Of The Saints

In response to a comment left by me on a post by Stacy McCain over at his site where I, in effect, say that all Ideology is based on what JeffS labels accurately ‘flawed premises’, someone named Shawn Smith replies:

I disagree. An ideology is simply a set of beliefs about the world and how it works. It is good or bad as it reflects accurately or inaccurately how the world and human nature works.

As there are already well over three hundred comments on Stacy’s post and seeing this as an opportunity to gather some of my thoughts on Ideology and Ideologues in one place, I make my reply here [this is based partially on past postings]…

To do evil, a human being must first of all believe that what he’s doing is good.

—Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn

An Ideology is a system of ideas.

Ideologues are committed to their system of…

View original post 1,000 more words

Responses

  1. Thanks Greg

    I left a comment and another link in the Post. You may look them up.

    IkeJ

    On 8/17/13, The mind is an unexplored country.

    • I suspect you will get a ‘frank and fearless’ from Bob in response to the line about Marx being a joker, Ike.
      I had a look at your piece on liberanarchism. Also ‘Liberalism gone awry.’ You make a good point there.


Leave a Reply

Categories

