Posted by: Gregoryno6 | August 5, 2012

Restoring the cinema balance: The Dark Knight Rises.

I don’t go to the movies as often as I did. I spent most of my 20s and 30s and a fair part of my 40s in assorted movie houses – mostly the old Valhalla in Melbourne, and the Lumiere and Luna here in Perth. As I found my seat in the Luna yesterday I tried to recall the last time I was there. I’m pretty sure it was for Moon, with Sam Rockwell. Nearly three years between visits. And after Cosmopolis I might stay away for a full decade.

The Dark Knight Rises was a far better film. I figured that for old times’ sake I’d hold off seeing it until Cosmopolis was released. A two movie weekend. Just like the good old days. As it turned out, TDKR was just what I needed to shake off the leaden drear of the CronenPatt Experience.

Who is this asshole, Dave? Can you believe this pompous shit?
Tell ya something, Rob. If we don’t start gettin’ some respect around here, you’re gonna see a blogger’s head explode.

To be honest, I had slightly higher expectations for Cosmopolis than TDKR. The pre-publicity about Christopher Nolan’s Dark Knight Trilogy put my teeth on edge: too much about Nolan, I thought, and not enough about the Knight. As the closing credits rolled I was more than happy to accept I was in error. The surprises were, for me, good surprises. Joshua Gordon-Levitt’s character was an intelligent introduction of the comic Robin into the realistic Nolan depiction of Batman’s world.

I kept away from all reviews until I’d seen the movie. Just now, straight home from the cinema, I sat down and started to catch up. A lot of people seem determined to pick The Dark Knight Rises Apart! Lots and lots of complaints about plot holes. The general disappointment over Prometheus has refocused on Nolan’s Bat. That’s unfair. Prometheus had supposedly smart people doing incredibly stupid things. Trying to escape a crashing space ship by running in front of it? TDKR didn’t go as far wrong as that. There were indeed plot holes – I for one would like to know how Bane located the secret Applied Sciences Warehouse. But the Bat-flaws didn’t ruin the Bat-whole.

Christopher Nolan told a great story over three films, and brought it to a satisfactory conclusion. He didn’t trash the Batman mythos the way that (for example) the makers of John Carter did. For the schoolboy who grew up to read The Killing Joke and Night Cries, that was crucial.

What can we do with Batman now? Eventually, someone will give us an answer. But we won’t be waiting for it as an antidote to a bad Bat-memory. For that, I’m deeply grateful to Christopher Nolan and his excellent cast and crew.

Photo sourced here.

Leave a Reply

Categories

